Recipe Of The Day: Easy Japanese Chicken Katsu Curry

If you’ve been following my blog for quite sometime now, you’ll know how I love Korean and Japanese cuisines. So the recipe of the day is Chicken Katsu Curry. This dish is very popular in Japan and a wide variety of vegetables and meat can be used. (link) Anyone who is into Japanese food knows that this dish is THE ONE. What makes it stand out from the other curries? The meat is breaded and fried into perfection, tender and juicy  inside with a crispy crunch on the outside, oh and not to mention, the mouthwatering curry sauce slathered all over it. See, I told you it’s THE ONE.

I first tasted this scrumptious dish at Wagamama, my brother always order it whenever we go there. I can’t believe after years of coming to that restaurant, I always hesitated to try and order Katsu Curry. You see, I always order my usual Cha han and Chilli Squid on the side. I’m like that, always ordering the same thing over and over again. Whenever my partner and I go to our favourite restaurant/s we tend to order the same thing. It’s funny how we ask the waiter/waitress to give us a couple of minutes to check the menu (as if we’re going to try and order a new unfamiliar dish) but then order the same thing!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a picky eater. I also like to try different dishes now and again. Anyway, back to this recipe, this is my (little) improvised version of the Katsu Curry. I promise you, it’s very tasty and fairly easy to make. You will find most of the ingredients in any Asian store or you can also order online at Japan Centre.

Click here for more information / history about Katsu Curry.

Chicken Katsu Curry

Serves: 4 people

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 30-40 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 4 cubes japanese curry (there’s also vegetarian curry)
  • 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 400g cooked rice (follow Japan Centre’s cooked rice recipe or if you can, buy a packet of instant cooked rice)
  •  4 tbsp plain flour (I seasoned it with salt and pepper)
  •  4 chicken breasts (I usually butterfly the chicken breasts if the cuts are too thick for my liking, this is optional)
  • 1 large egg (beaten)
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 large potato
  • 1 large carrot
  • cooking oil for deep frying (I used sunflower oil)

What to do:

1. Cut the onion, potato and carrot into small chunks. Put 1tbsp of cooking oil in a deep frying pan (or in a pot), keep in medium heat. Fry the onion first until brown, followed by potato and carrot. Fry all ingredients for 5 minutes, stirring once in awhile. Pour over 2-4 cups of water into the pan and cover. Simmer for 20 minutes or until the vegetables are soft.

*The amount of water will be the amount of sauce you would like to your curry. I usually used 3 cups and add one more at the end. I like mine not too sticky and thick. To start off, try adding 2 cups of water then you can add more at the end.

2. Start cooking your rice now while the vegetables are boiling away.

3. Add 4 blocks of japanese curry to the pan with vegetables. Simmer for 10 minutes and keep mixing until the curry sauce is thick and smooth.

katsu curry

*I can eat spicy food but I’m not a die-hard fan (like my partner) so I used the ‘mild’ curry blocks. I have improvised the spiciness by adding more chilli powder. It doesn’t change the taste whatsoever and by doing this, I can make the curry from being really mild to extra-hot-and-spicy-you’ll-blow-your-nose-at-the-end-of-the-meal kind of taste. Phew!japanese katsu curry

4. While the curry is cooking its deliciousness away, season your chicken breasts with salt and pepper. One by one, coat into the flour first and then into the beaten egg, then panko breadcrumbs.

*Ta-dah! My curry sauce is ready!

katsu curry japanese

5. In a medium heat, place cooking oil in a frying pan. Fry the chicken breasts 6-8 minutes per side until they become a golden brown colour.

easy katsu curry6. Slice the cooked chicken katsu into strips and lay over a bed of rice before adding the curry sauce.

katsu curry easy katsu curry

*We’re too hungry to slice the katsu strips. If you have some vegetarian or vegan guests, you can replace the chicken with fried tofu and use a variety of vegetarian curry.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. It’s a favourite in our household. If you think I’ve missed out some important bits, don’t hesitate to let me know. I’m not an expert when it comes to cooking, just like you, I want to try something new and different now and again.

You can also use this step-by-step video to guide you. Have fun cooking!♡

More similar entries:
Recipe Of The Day: Japanese Love Okonomiyaki
Recipe Of The Day: Karaage Chicken
10 thoughts on “Recipe Of The Day: Easy Japanese Chicken Katsu Curry

  1. We eat this at least every 3 weeks! =P Except we BAKE it for 45 minutes, and don’t use any flour. Also, try adding corn, green peas, green beans and a chili pepper to spike it up a couple notches! Then top it with cheddar cheese while it’s still PIPING hot!!!!!!! And tell me what you think? 😉

    • You bake the chicken or the whole thing? (with curry etc) That’s amazing! I’ll try those veggies that you’ve mentioned. I love cheddar too! Thanks!

  2. Made this for dinner and it was amazing! My husband LOVED it. It definitely captured the katsu curry taste perfectly.

    • Hi Jack,

      Thanks for dropping by. This entry was posted a long time and haven’t had a chance to cook this dish for months now. But as far as I remember, yes. That could work.

      Let me know how it goes.

      Sarah 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your comment!☺

